Open Discussion: Maladaptive Daydreaming Poem. Roommates In My Mind

I’ve had Maldatpive Daydreaming my whole life and always wondered what it was. In 2001 I stayed on an island in the mediteranean. While on the island in my hotel room overlooking white cliffs and crystal blue water MD neutralized. While it was Neutralized I analyzed the brain situation and wrote this copyrighted poem.

Roommates In My Mind

A poem for Maladaptive Daydreamers written by a Maladaptive Daydreamer
I live with them, I see them, they’re with me everywhere I go
I go to sleep and I wake up with them, And nobody knows
That they talk to me, They live with me, To everyone else they’re blind
 
Who are these people?
 
The roommates in my mind.
Don’t know where they came from, not sure if I want them to go,
They have families and histories, And wild scenarios
They are me and I am them, At times I want to leave them behind
 
Who are these people I speak of?
 
The roommates in my mind
Nobody can see them, Not even me
They exist and they live, they are real to me
 
They leave the room when real people show up
The come back when the people leave
 
There’s no way to explain it, And if I did, no one would believe me
I sit alone and watch them, they exist and age in real time
I wish I knew who these people are
 
The roomates in my mind
 
PS I’m not a Schizo so don’t go there
One thought on “Open Discussion: Maladaptive Daydreaming Poem. Roommates In My Mind

  1. Isn’t it beautiful? That moment when the dreams neutralize… You feel almost normal. You feel whole and get an idea of how other people, normal people, must think. It is a clear moment. A moment where I’m not uncomfortable being me.
    Lovely poem. Every word resonated with me.

Be courteous, ask questions, be respectful of others and thier feelings.

