Open Discussion: Overactive Imagination or Maldaptive Daydreaming? What is the difference?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 
WELCOME TO THE HEALING PROJECT
The aim is to help us heal ourselves and each other from Maladaptive Daydreaming, Abuses, and PTSD.
 

When I was younger and didn’t know about MD I was told by several people that I had an ‘Overactive Imagination’. I was also told if I didn’t get it in check and learn to focus that I would go nowhere in life. My usual response,

“Well Toodle Loo to you too!”

That response usually got no reaction. I first realized that I had some sort of problem when I was around 13 or 14. One of my charachters had done something that I though was spectacular and I told my friend. I asked her what did her people do? She was like, what people. I told her, “The people that you know are there but you can’t see.” That’s when she informed me that I was too old for ‘imaginary freinds’ and I needed to grow up. I never said anything to anybody ever again for the fear of riducule, embarrassment, shame and everything else I felt that day. So I was wondering about your thoughts. Are we just over imaginative people who, for lack of a better phrase, ‘can’t stop pretending’? or is it far more serious than that?

Comments?

Be courteous, ask questions, be respectful of others and thier feelings.

