Open Discussion: Why are we addicted to Day Dreaming? What are we trying to validate?

WELCOME TO THE HEALING PROJECT
The aim is to help us heal ourselves and each other from Maladaptive Daydreaming, Abuses, and PTSD. 
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 
CLICK ON THE LINK IN RECENT POSTS TO GET TO THE COMMENTS
AND THEN SCROLL TO THE BOTTOM TO COMMENT

The common theme from most daydreamers seems to be love, validation, adoration, recognition, acceptance, and popularity among our invisible friends.

Why are we this way?

I know in my case, as a child, I received the exact and total opposite of that laundry list above.  Even when I thought I had excelled at something I was shot down in flames. Usually in front of a group in order to up the public humiliation factor. The worst thing about it was, most of the abuse came from family members. Then I had the regular outside world to deal with along with bullying at school and typical kid stuff.

**Side note – anybody born in the 70’s knows there was no child protection law in place in any shape form or fashion. Your family could very well kill you and tell the police you had it coming and that’s that.**

That’s what I was up against. This lasted until my teen years. As a result of the physical abuse, mental cruelty, verbal abuse, and extreme disrespectful tone I created an imaginary world where I was safe, and everybody loved me and I was in demand for one reason or another.

Not all MD’ers have abuse or trauma in thier background. In my case it was severe. Tell what you think might be the fuel to the daydreaming we experience.

2 thoughts on “Open Discussion: Why are we addicted to Day Dreaming? What are we trying to validate?

  1. I’ve often wonder why I’m so addicted to daydreaming. I’ve read, in several places, that those with MD have suffered some sort of trauma in their past, and it becomes a coping mechanism of sorts. I don’t fit that category. I don’t think anyways. Unless my brain has shut something out. So I’m not sure why I have this. But it definitely fills some sort of need. Like you said – need to be accepted, recognized, loved, validated. I understand the role MD plays in my life, but I don’t understand why I developed it in the first place. And it scares me. How do you deal with something when you can’t figure out the root cause?

    • Just a thought but have you considered it is hereditary? Maybe something not talked about previously in the family? I only say this because I believe in my case, yes there was abuse, but I also know an uncle had it and my sister described my niece’s behavior and it sounds like she has it too. She has not been abused that I know of. I believe some sort of Genetics has something to do with it.

Be courteous, ask questions, be respectful of others and thier feelings.

